Teams Direct Routing

Anywhere365 Dialogue Cloud customers that use Teams Direct Routing have a direct route that connects their Session Border Controller (SBC) with the Microsoft Phone System.

The Anywhere365 Dialogue Cloud Contact Center enables users to make and receive calls within Microsoft Teams while providing the features of Anywhere365 such as: call recording, real-time translation, Interactive Voice Response, reporting feature, the use of wallboards and many more. When the UCC receives an inbound call, the session will be connected to Agents that are available on Teams.

 


 

Best practice for unwanted scenarios resulting from call forward settings

There are some features that work differently (compared to our Skype for Business offering) because of Teams related settings. Because Teams Users can configure "call answering rules" for incoming calls to go straight to voicemail or a phone number, this can result in unwanted scenarios for Anywhere365 call flows.

Currently it is impossible to overrule/ignore the call forwarding settings configured by a Teams user. So if an Agent has configured a call forward (e.g. to voicemail or any phone number) and does not accept the call within the configured timeout or declines an incoming call from the UCC, the customer is forwarded to the call forward destination configured by the Agent, which is (in most cases) undesired.

 

Best practice: do not configure call forwarding settings for Contact Center Agents.

 

There are two ways to prevent customers from ending up in the call forward destination configured by an Agent.

 

Option 1 - Adjust Call answering rules in Teams User settings

  1. Navigate to the Teams User Settings - Calls and open Call answering rules.

  2. Change the selection for If unanswered / Voicemail to If unanswered / Do nothing

Option 2 - Adjust the Teams Calling Policy in the Teams Admin Center

The calling policy defines which calling and call forwarding features are available to users. If there is no need for call forwarding for Teams users in your organization, you can change an existing Calling policy. Calling policies can be changed in the Teams Admin Center or by using PowerShell. Read more about Calling policies in Microsoft Teams.

Best practice: a calling policy can also be applied to a subset of users, therefore it might be a good alternative to create an additional policy that disables call forwarding options and assign this policy to all Teams Users that are added to at least one UCC.

 


 

Best practice for the Transfer scenario

When a customer utilizes Teams Direct Routing and an Agent initiates a transfer, Anwyhere365 is not involved in this transfer. As a result, Anywhere365 is not informed when the transfer completes to whom the call was transferred. The Agent remains reserved (i.e. will not get new calls offered automatically) until the call ends, though the Agent is still able to take calls from the queue manually.

Read the following instructions on how to add two items to your UCC Settings list to be able to remove the reservation status and make the agent available for call distribution directly after he has transferred a call:

 

How to solve the transfer scenario example

As of Core version 8.0.22 two new settings have been introduced to be able to remove this reservation status from the agent:

When setting “RemoveReservationWhenTransferDetected” is set to true, an Agent reservation will be removed if the following sequence of events is detected:

1. Agent’s audio channel changes to inactive (call goes on hold)

2. Agent’s audio channel changes to sendReceive (call is resumed)

3. Agent’s presence changes to available (within X seconds after the call is resumed; configured by setting “RemoveReservationWhenTransferDetectedDelay”)

 

The following logline will be visible in the UCC Log if a reservation is removed because of the above-mentioned sequence:

WARN - DirectRoutingMediaPresenceReservationPlugin Attempting to CancelReservation for SipUri=sip:uri@domain.com, DialogueId=4443f44a-09eb-4563-84cd-41b81060af5e, UccName=uccname because detected a possible transfer event sequence.

Note: Because A365 is not notified that a call is transferred, the reports and client applications might not be accurate. However, the Agent becomes available and will receive new calls automatically.

 

Summary:

If you add the settings “RemoveReservationWhenTransferDetected” with value true and “RemoveReservationWhenTransferDetectedDelay” with a value greater than 0 to your UCC, Agent Reservations will be removed if a possible transfer is detected by the UCC.

Both Settings can be added in the UCC SharePoint environment under UCC GENERAL - Settings (Scope = User).